Frame Swap

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Waldo

Reaction score
Howdy all,
I have obtained a manual transmission 96 gmc k1500 stepside 4x4 that is in desperate need of a new frame. I am a newbie when it comes to repairing, let alone rebuilding vehicles, so I am still learning. I need some advice on the steps I'd go about to go from a fully built truck in one bay of a garage and a rolling frame in the other, to them swapping places. I hadn't realized the frame needed to be replaced until after I removed the transmission to change the slave clutch cylinder, so the transmission, transfer case, and all else attached has been removed from the vehicle already. Time is of the essence, so being able to do the swap as efficiently as possible is ideal. Beside the basic steps, I also need a few specific questions answered:
1. When the cab is finally detached, what would the best way to lift it from the frame be?
2. Would it be worth it to paint the new frame with rustoleum? (it is from Tennessee and rust free currently)
3. How heavy is the fiberglass bed and how many people would i need to lift it?
If any answers or advice can be offered, it will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

RichLo

E I E I O
Reaction score
First of all you are in for a big job, normally this is done by experienced people with heavy equipment and/or vehicle lifts. Not saying it cant be done with lighter duty equipment but it will make everything more difficult and frustrating.

#1 see my answer above.