K1500 Suburban Coolant Flushing

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Char

Reaction score
I recently bought this 1999 Suburban with a 5.7L Vortek, I have been stalking the forum learning lots from you all. I am not too experienced with auto work, trying to learn
You must be registered for see images attach

I’m working on changing the fluids, first of all the coolant, which was low (reservoir empty), and lots of sludge in the radiator cap. Existing coolant is orange (DexCool?)
I tried opening the petcock, but it does not look right:

Might be broken, or maybe a previous owner installed that? Any ideas how I can open this to drain the coolant?

The next thing I tried was removing the lower radiator hose to drain from there. I opened the clamp, but the hose would not budge. Any ideas on removing a stuck hose?

Thanks!

SUBURBAN5

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
I've always loosened the radiator hose. They do tend to stick over time especially if original. Twist or use a hose pic to pry or widen the hose and it should slide off.. also I poured coolant flush through the radiator and drove around to let it circulate. Also run the rear heater and you should be good to drain and pour fresh coolant

Pinger

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
You are where I was just over a year ago with my 1999 Suburban setting out on changing all the fluids.
I had an issue with the drain plug on the radiator. I twisted it out with pliers and on replacing it was I was far from convinced it wasn't ruined. No problems though it sealed and has held but when I recently had to remove coolant - I chose not to disturb it again. Yours might be missing the tab I twisted on with the pliers though.