Engine oil for a tbi 350

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

MrobsMan

Reaction score
Has anyone on here used the valveoline high mileage max life oil? I’m planing on trying it I like that it’s not full synthetic but not sure how good it is for the flat tappet cams…

Komet

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
I've been running it in my rigs for about 7 years now. No complaints, no sludge buildup. I change it every 3k or less. If your motor is stock, I wouldn't worry about the flat tappets because the stock springs are light and the lift is mild.

You might think you want a zinc additive for a high performance flat tappet setup, but you might as well just save the money for new bearings after it shreds itself apart anyway.

MrobsMan

Reaction score
I've been running it in my rigs for about 7 years now. No complaints, no sludge buildup. I change it every 3k or less. If your motor is stock, I wouldn't worry about the flat tappets because the stock springs are light and the lift is mild.

You might think you want a zinc additive for a high performance flat tappet setup, but you might as well just save the money for new bearings after it shreds itself apart anyway.
All ive got done is a mild comp cam

Attachments

• IMG_4930.png
    IMG_4930.png
    239.1 KB · Views: 3

90gmcsierraL59

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
I ran Amsoil 10W40 high zinc in my 90 GMC K motor and it held 25 pounds of oil pressure at a hot idle and 40 pounds running down the road with 250K on it. Oil consumption was negligible about a quart a year. I also used K&N oil filters exclusively. I changed it at 7500 miles or once a year whichever came first.

Tom A

Reaction score