Alignment on lowered OBS

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

04SVT

Reaction score
Hello everyone,
FIrst, apologies if I'm posting this in the wrong section, I haven't quite figured out the site.

My question is are there any special considerations to properly aligning a lowered OBS? I've had mine aligned, but it still kind of drifts a little left (I correct), then drifts a little right (I correct). The front end parts are all brand new.
By special considerations, I'm wondering if the truck needs a little extra toe in, or if it should be set to the max range on camber, or caster?
Hoping to get it completely dialed in and pulling back to center, rather than from one side to the other. BTW, this is all 'slight', but I want to get it 'right'.
TIA

Nad_Yvalhosert

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
Ive been doing just that for the last 11 years. Heres my 2 little ole pennies:

First, definitions.
Caster: what it does:
steering returnability, high caster keeps it straight on the highway, doesnt wear tires. Higher effort when excessive, high wander when near zero to negative.

Camber: positive camber for smooth road manners. Negative camber for quick steering, "race feel". Will wear tires if excessive.

Lowered trucks: I suggest you increase the caster an additional 0.5° to 1°. Somewhere around 4°, even 4.5°
Lose some camber, preferably 0°. +/- a quarter degree. Leave the toe at factory spec, 0.24°

Now, your complaint sounds like memory steer. Holds itself both ways turning left or right? Could be the gear box is too tight.

someotherguy

Truly Awesome
Reaction score
Front end parts all brand new = I'm wondering the brand and particular line (as some have more than one quality level) and was everything torqued properly and greased after install.

Richard

04SVT

Reaction score