Looking to build a good street setup

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Roadrunner

Reaction score
I'm looking at building a new power train/truck. I have been running the gmt400's for a few years now and generally like them overall, but still haven't found a setup I really like. So far I've gone through a 98 vortec and a 93 tbi.

I started with the vortec first, bought a clapped out truck and had the engine and trans rebuilt. Long story short I drove the truck for 2 years and put about 40k on it. I ended up wrecking the truck. The engine and trans builds were probably not best as I had a list of crap to fix to get it rolling good when I got it back, but once straight it was a good truck.

After wrecking the 98 I picked up a 93 that had a bad trans with a 305. After driving the 305 a bit I decided the little 305 ran too good to swap the vortec into. So I built the trans and ran it for about a year that way. Along came a 350 tbi motor that had builder tags on it and a low mileage truck. So I swapped the 305 for a 350.

All said and done it took about a year to get this motor running good. It still has a few misc things to do to get it dialed in, but it's running pretty good now.

Here is where I'm looking to get to with my truck. First I need to go to a 4l80e instead of the vulnerable 4l60e. The one I built for the 93 works really well for the most part but I do tow and carry around a bunch of tools so it's probably not long for the world with the way I work the truck.

Next I need to build some small block power 190 horses just doesnt cut with the tbi. The low end grunt is great but gas mileage and low output is a bit hard to swallow for me. Along that note the vortec wasn't a whole lot better either but the mileage was better.