Door Issues 96 c2500

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Sramos03

Reaction score
Hello guys wanted to ask for some help and guidance on my truck. I recently purchased my first truck and it happens to be a 1996 c2500. One of the main issue it currently has is that the driver door is a bit of a mess (pictures included). I’m new to trucks and recently completed my first oil change so that is how much mechanical experience I have (besides countless YouTube videos and car restoration shows I watch). The door is currently held in place by a tow strap. Is fixing the door something that can be accomplished with my low level of knowledge in car restoration or is this a job that would be better completed by a body shop. Thanks and appreciate the help!

Attachments

• 6B20200C-70E8-46B5-B1FB-471102CA4F5C.jpeg
    6B20200C-70E8-46B5-B1FB-471102CA4F5C.jpeg
    352.6 KB · Views: 29
  • E7137A66-E596-437B-9073-1002CAD88DFF.jpeg
    E7137A66-E596-437B-9073-1002CAD88DFF.jpeg
    239.4 KB · Views: 28
  • 9F3CF23D-CA38-470A-A6BD-A8FAE9B0884A.jpeg
    9F3CF23D-CA38-470A-A6BD-A8FAE9B0884A.jpeg
    196.2 KB · Views: 29
  • D5F86233-43F3-47CF-9BCF-F9ECF59A4B53.jpeg
    D5F86233-43F3-47CF-9BCF-F9ECF59A4B53.jpeg
    297.4 KB · Views: 28
  • 389E605C-29A8-4545-AC35-BFDBFF296142.jpeg
    389E605C-29A8-4545-AC35-BFDBFF296142.jpeg
    198.1 KB · Views: 30

Hipster

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
Your pins and bushings are probably shot and it looks like the door is hitting the striker or body above the striker pin. Trying to slam the door when it's not lined up with the striker pin can beat up the latch mechanism to the point it doesn't work. It all depends on how bad.

Replacing the pins and bushings and the latch if necessary are not really all that difficult but there are some pitfalls.

someotherguy

Truly Awesome
Reaction score