1996 vortec 454 performance questions

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

LoudnLifted88

Small Block Grim Reaper
Reaction score
i got a 96 vortec 454 with 240k miles on it and its got power but i feel like it could use more i got a 98 454 with 163k that i plan on swaping int but was wondering if i but bigger injectors, shorty headers, punch my cats, delete my ac, put electric fans on it, and get a custom tune would there be much of a power differece to make it worth spending the money?

JollyGreen

Metalworking Madman
Reaction score
I'm not an expert by any means; but from the little I've read letting these 454's breath and opening the exhaust does help. The injectors I'm not sure about, but the tune would probably do wonders, along with a 411 pcm swap. From the miles I've put on mine in the short time I've had it, I feel like there is some untapped potential.

90droptop

Reaction score
Not that I'm an expert either but why not freshen up the 98 with some head work a decent cam the headders you mentioned and a tune that should help it inhale and exhale much better. As for the larger injectors if you still have the factory ones may I suggest five-o motorsports for injector replacement.

LoudnLifted88

Small Block Grim Reaper
Reaction score
I'm not an expert by any means; but from the little I've read letting these 454's breath and opening the exhaust does help. The injectors I'm not sure about, but the tune would probably do wonders, along with a 411 pcm swap. From the miles I've put on mine in the short time I've had it, I feel like there is some untapped potential.