Metal specks in Oil

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

MADMEXUS

Reaction score
Hello everyone this is my first time posting on this forum. I currently have a 350 TBI with a 700r4 transmission in my daily and recently I did an oil change and saw this in the pan. Some of the material is magnetic but others are not. I cut open the filter and found nothing inside of it. The engine has 181xxx miles on it and It has always been maintained properly and I drive like a grandpa.
I sent a sample to Blackstone labs but have yet to receive anything.
Please let me know what you think, thanks.

Attachments

• IMG_3091.JPG
    IMG_3091.JPG
    188 KB · Views: 38
  • IMG_3087.JPG
    IMG_3087.JPG
    180 KB · Views: 35
  • IMG_3086.JPG
    IMG_3086.JPG
    233.8 KB · Views: 38
  • IMG_3085.JPG
    IMG_3085.JPG
    232.4 KB · Views: 38
  • IMG_3090.JPG
    IMG_3090.JPG
    459.2 KB · Views: 36

MADMEXUS

Reaction score
More pics. Also I run 5w-30 high mileage valvo with a wix filter. About 100 miles before this change i put a little bit of Marvel Mystery into the crank case

Attachments

• IMG_3088.JPG
    IMG_3088.JPG
    324.9 KB · Views: 21
  • IMG_3089.JPG
    IMG_3089.JPG
    615.7 KB · Views: 20

PlayingWithTBI

2022 Truck of the Year
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I sent a sample to Blackstone labs but have yet to receive anything.
I'd wait and see what Blackstone has to say. Nonferrous flakes could be bearings. Ferrous flakes could be cam or lifters. I'm guessing you have a flat tappet cam. Are you hearing any tapping/ticking noise at idle? Maybe while waiting for the report you can check lifter preload.

RichLo

E I E I O
Reaction score