K1500 Suburban fuel line QD to Steel Braided Hose swap at tank/pump

what would you have done in this case?

• Total voters

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Erik the Awful

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Dropping the tank is great, when you have a lift and a transmission jack. I was a Nissan tech back when they had a recall on the fuel tank temp sensors in the trucks. Some guys were taking half an hour to lift the bed. I could drop the tank in five minutes.

454cid

Sooper Pooper
Reaction score
Dropping the tank is great, when you have a lift and a transmission jack. I was a Nissan tech back when they had a recall on the fuel tank temp sensors in the trucks. Some guys were taking half an hour to lift the bed. I could drop the tank in five minutes.

Last time I replaced my pump, I pulled the bed AND dropped the tank. Getting that out and back in was major pain when working on soft dirt, and the tank had some gas in it.... I could not balance that thing on a floor jack for anything. I ended up pulling the tank too, because I decided I wanted acesss to the frame for cleaning.

Not having a lift, I like being able to work from above, and having plenty of room to move around. I don't like pulling the bed, because I need help doing so.... also all my bolts are rusty now (Michigan winters). I only have 7 bolts now, as one broke off. I used new bolts, but I could not get the 8th bolt out of the bed.

Now, I really need to drop the tank again.... to replace it. The original has leaked ever since I replaced the pump. The tank has rusted through right below the filler neck. My lines are also super rusty. I plan on replacing them with nylon.

David Hopwood

Reaction score