FNG With Questions

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Reaction score
Hello, didn't really get much answers in the Memeber Introduction section so I'll ask here as it seems the more appropriate place. I have a problem, I hope you guys can help me with or steer me in the right direction:

I'm really torn between a pickup or a Suburban (Hell maybe even a Tahoe if the price is right.) Suburbans are much more common around here and generally cheaper, though I feel like I'd be happier with a pickup, I'll probably have to wait alot longer.

Chevy/GMC doesn't make a difference to me though I am partial to GMC as I am a GMC tech at a local dealer. It was be a 96+ as I want the newer Vortec as well as OBDII. I'd prefer a K1500, as it would be a daily and I would like some sort of MPG as well as dont want the harsh 3/4 ride all day. But, If I found a clean K2500 for the right price I would probably jump on it.

Not really planning on going with a lift or crazy off road like many members though maybe a couple inch suspension lift and little bit taller tires wouldn't be out of the question down the road. My plan for the truck is to just set it up as a comfy daily and a dedicated tow rig for my trailer and car to get to the track. This is where the idea of a Suburban come to me, enclosed cargo area, plenty of seating for the crew, comfort, a place to hide out from weather at times. Or, just get a pickup and get a cap for the track days?

Figure a 16-1800 pound open trailer and a 2900lb Nova. That shouldn't be a issue for a stock K1500 either Burb or pickup should it? Minor things to help it trailer better would also be done.

Is there a easy way to identify a factory towing package on these trucks? What exactly did the factory towing package entail?

Sorry for the many questions, thanks for yalls help.

- Rob

RyanMerrick

8 Lug
Reaction score