Correct amount of rust for a life in Pacific Northwest?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

99Yak

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
You must be registered for see images attach
I’m looking at suburban that is said to have spend most of its time in Salem/Eugene Oregon area. Do these photos back that up?

It obviously didn’t spend its life in Michigan, however, I have been warned to stay away from vehicles west of the coastal range.

Attachments

• IMG_0585.jpeg
    IMG_0585.jpeg
    529.1 KB · Views: 17

johnckhall

GO DAWGS!!!
Reaction score
That is extremely minimal surface rust. Trucks that have been subjected to road salt continuously would show more rust/rust flaking/pitting. I’m no expert on Pacific NW trucks, but I’d say the seller is truthful about its history.

movietvet

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Military
Reaction score
I live in Eugene, Oregon and that is what is known as "surface rust". Is that listed on CL or FB or....?

99Yak

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
That is extremely minimal surface rust. Trucks that have been subjected to road salt continuously would show more rust/rust flaking/pitting. I’m no expert on Pacific NW trucks, but I’d say the seller is truthful about its history.
I agree. The Carfax registration history corroborates the 2nd owners info. However, it has a little more surface rust than my Oregon K2500 had when I brought it home. Since it was a tow vehicle, I wanted to double check on whether or not it did all its towing at the “Beachhouse”.

Ive been warned by several people that Coastal vehicles may not be “honest” vehicles.

movietvet

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Military
Reaction score