77Conours's 2003 Duramax ECSB Build Thread

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

77Concours

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
Since I traded in my 1995 ECSB K1500 Silverado Z71 that I put thousands of dollars into and got jack squat for it :nono: I bought a 2003 Silverado LS Duramax Diesel LB7 4x4.

"Why would you do that?" You might ask.

When I bought my '95 I enjoyed it thoroughly but it lacked power and handled like a tank. A lightweight Nova that I drove in high school drove much faster and handled much better. I wanted more power, better handling, and of course heat and air conditioning that worked in a vehicle for once. After my truck started to nickel and dime me and the rust on the frame worsened I decided it was time to hold off on vehicle projects both large and small until I graduated college and got a solid job.

The search began and I decided a diesel was the way to go. The performance is outstanding and I can tow my car once I build a "less streetable" motor for it. Also in the lovely winters in PA the four wheel drive would come in handy too. I looked at a 2003 Laramie Cummins and loved the performance but there was no warranty and the interior cosmetically was mediocre at best. Pretty bummed that I didn't buy it but I knew it wasn't meant to be. So 3 days later while on pickuptrucks.com I came across an Arrival Blue Metallic 2003 Silverado with a Duramax/Allison transmission combo with 158,*** on the clock. I test drove it and loved the acceleration. Everything went well and 2 hours later I put a security deposit on it. The dealer allowed me to take all my stereo equipment and CB radio. I also removed my LEDs since I had about $200 worth installed. Trading in my 400 was extremely tough but I knew it was the right decision, I just know whoever gets it next won't take good care of it like I did.