Shorty headers not sealing

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

ToasyNut

Reaction score
Hello, this is my first time posting but I recently put some shorty headers on my 94 c1500. I am having problems aligning the headers with the factory Y-pipe, am I supposed to be running the factory donut gaskets or is something maybe just wrong with how I’m trying to bolt them up? I’m currently running no gaskets, but I’m not sure if I am even supposed to need any. Here are some pictures of the connections…

Attachments

• IMG_8973.jpeg
    IMG_8973.jpeg
    266.2 KB · Views: 32
  • IMG_8975.jpeg
    IMG_8975.jpeg
    231.8 KB · Views: 31

movietvet

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Military
Reaction score
Welcome to the forum from Oregon.

That looks to me like it should seal as long as it is tightened with the correct hardware and is square to the flange. If you have a small leak, you can get sealer, if they still make it, that comes in a tube and hardens up and seals with heat.

GrimsterGMC

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hello, this is my first time posting but I recently put some shorty headers on my 94 c1500. I am having problems aligning the headers with the factory Y-pipe, am I supposed to be running the factory donut gaskets or is something maybe just wrong with how I’m trying to bolt them up? I’m currently running no gaskets, but I’m not sure if I am even supposed to need any. Here are some pictures of the connections…