Newbie from the Great White North

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Crytone

Reaction score
Hi everyone!

I'm a newbie who just got his new-to-him truck yesterday. It's an 1988 GMC C1500 RCLB. Odd thing is it has badges and labeling of "Wrangler" on it, which were like that from the day it left the dealership. Tried finding information about this model but came up empty handed.

Some cool things about my truck (I'm sure many others have these things too):
  • Wrangler badges
  • Odometer reads 76,000 ORIGINAL KMs (about 47K miles). Dealer serviced all it's life.
  • 5.0L V8
  • AC, Power Windows/Locks
  • Has this cool retractable light under the hood
  • Rear defrost glass!
Yes, the KMs are accurate because I got it from one of the original owners. It truly was almost a barnyard find and in fairly mint condition. The story is actually, it's my grandfathers truck, who passed away nearly 15 years ago. It has sat in my grandmothers garage for the past 15 years only getting driven a few times a year. My grandfather used it as a light duty 'farm' truck to basically drive from his house in town to check his farm about 15 KM away maybe once a week, or to go get the paper/coffee downtown. Got a sweet family discount (read: free) on it too!!

Now the things that need fixing:
  • Front grill chrome is starting to bubble (who makes a good replacement?)
  • One of the sealed beam headlights has a rock hole in it and will need to be replaced
  • One of the fender chromes is a bit dinged up
  • Needs some mudflaps
  • Some paint protection film might be nice to protect the minty rocker panels/cab corners
  • Bed is scratched up bad but no rusting/dents. Thinking of doing a spray in liner.
  • Might look at doing an undercoating on it