Too soft

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Wagg2319

Reaction score
Here's my deal I have a 92 C1500 dropped 4/6 with a mcgaughys full kit I only have one complaint it a lil to soft I used the shocks that came with the kit, does anyone know a good stiffer shock I don't want it to be like a rock but I don't want it mushy either....

sewlow

Bitchin' Stitchin'
Reaction score
A lot of the kits come with Doetsch Nitro-drop shocks. They're O.K. I found them to be lacking when playing in the twisties.
Right now I have the Belltech Street Performers. These I like. More of a true performance shock. Some members here don't like 'em.
Others here have had success with using late '60's Impala shocks in the rear. Monroes? I have no experience with those.
There are others here that swear by Bilsteins. Again, I have no personal first hand experience.
My biggest whine about the lowering kits, is that they use a front spring that mimics the ride of a stocker, which is definitely not performance oriented. Too soft/bouncy.
When I get into another round of suspension work on my '98, the lowered kit springs are outa there! They'll be replaced with a set of stock V8 springs (not V6) that have been cut down.
Cutting the stock ones increases the spring rate & really helps to get rid of that soft bouncy 'commuter' ride. Buddy's truck that has almost the same set-up as mine, but with cut springs, handles like it's on rails! A firmer ride for sure, but his truck just feels so much more connected to the road. He doesn't bottom out his suspension like mine does in the same spots @ speed. He just kills me in the corners!

JJHUSSY

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
True that! Wish my springs had a higher rate :(

Them twisties have a minor bump and its rub-a-dub fender wrecker!!

Let alone big dips on the highway, inner wells :(

bowtie-till-i-die

I'm Awesome