Manual Trans LS Swap Questions

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

KI4UJO

Reaction score
I have a 1990 K1500. It currently has a SM465. I'm planning on dropping in a 5.3 out of a 99 Silverado to replace the current carbed mild-built sbc.

I'm looking to swap the SM465 for a box w/overdrive, probably a NV4500 or something similar (have considered an NV3500, but not too sure on how robust they actually are + LS compatibility). What am I going to need to do as far as bellhousing, clutch, flywheel,etc? It's also worth asking - if I kept the 465, what is involved?

Sorry if I'm asking something that has been covered elsewhere, I searched and didnt come up w/much. I've done some C3 Vette stuff but 98% of my background is in BMW.

Thanks in advance!

DerekTheGreat

Forum Regular
Reaction score
I am not an expert and hopefully someone else with definitive knowledge will post but what I can tell you is that a NV3500 will pretty much grenade if more than 300ft-lbs are fed to it. Also, the NV4500 is a damn near direct swap for a dump truck SM465. I believe Chewy1576(?) swapped his 465 for one and was able to use the existing crossmember/mount and driveshaft as well as the flywheel and clutch. Now of course this was all behind the traditional SBC. Interior wise you just need the different trim piece I believe. In 1995 or 1996 or so they modified the NV4500 to use an internal slave, so if you want to use a 4500 from 95 and up you'll need to do some modification there.

Although if going to an LS I'm sure another question that'll be asked is why NV4500? The later ones also ended up with a 1st gear that wasn't as steep or considered a granny but they still aren't quick shifting units so you might be better off with a T56 or something.

brianmcb

I'm Awesome
Reaction score