Few questions about rebuilding 4l60e

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

93TL93

Reaction score
Alright the trans in my 93 4x4 finally gave out at 246k i have no 3rd or 4th just revs up as if in neutral. after reading i see that 3/4 clutch burn up is common so its time for a rebuild. i will be doing this myself. i have been trying to find out what rebuild kit i should get as iam not the easiest on the throttle i figured i should try and beef it up a little. since im new to rebuilding trans i was wondering what kits anyone has any luck with and if i should go with a shift kit as well. any information would be appreciated. and i think i have it diagnosed right but if i could be anything else please let me know.

highspeed

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
I currently have the same issue. I have a thread with some replies that may point you in the right direction. I have also decided to do mine myself as well.

My 4l60e had about 15000 miles on it since it was "rebuilt". That being said, my truck shifts fine from 1-2 but once it shifts to 3rd it just revs freely. The clutch pack is probably the culprit but it may be the 3-4 clutch pack piston as well. I am gonna try to pull my transmission tomorrow and get it apart..........so we will see. I will post up pix if I can.

93TL93

Reaction score
i will take a look at your your thread, i wont be removing my trans till next weekend so keep me posted on how it goes.thanks

highspeed

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
Well i just started pulling mine so i probably wont get to it till next week. Its raining all week and i will be out of town. Ill post pics when i pull the transmission

rhino

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
If you guys need a manual or anything let me know. I can email it to you.

93TL93

Reaction score
Rhino,