Another Back firing thru Intake

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Reaction score
Loosing my mind. I have been a tech and hotrodder for over 30 years.

I did search the forums before posting.

He is my problem. It literally looks like a jet car at the track when i lean into it. Whether in park or on the road trying to do a small climb up a hill. Sounds like it wants to blow the intake off the truck. Huge fire balls from the tbi.

1993 5.7 new heads, idle vacuum of 21 inches, fuel pressure 11 psi, TBI spray pattern looks ok with timing light, Timing dead on. , it will rev to 6000 rpm.Craziest ****.

Replaced new plugs, new wires, new coil, new coolant sensor, new map, new distributor ,new ecm, new tps, new timing chain, 4 new ground loops at the thermostat, new ground from thermostat to frame, new ground from abs module to chassis, new ground from battery to engine block, new ground from battery to fender. Spent plenty of money, im about to pull out the engine and junk it. Only thing i haven't replaced is TBI and knock sensor.

ARGGGGG

PlayingWithTBI

2022 Truck of the Year
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Put it on a scanner and see what's going on when it backfires or lean pops. Did you check fuel pressure when it happens? 11 PSI is OK, 13 is better.

thinger2

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
Loosing my mind. I have been a tech and hotrodder for over 30 years.

I did search the forums before posting.

He is my problem. It literally looks like a jet car at the track when i lean into it. Whether in park or on the road trying to do a small climb up a hill. Sounds like it wants to blow the intake off the truck. Huge fire balls from the tbi.

1993 5.7 new heads, idle vacuum of 21 inches, fuel pressure 11 psi, TBI spray pattern looks ok with timing light, Timing dead on. , it will rev to 6000 rpm.Craziest ****.