95 small block - Sluggish acceleration - is it from ESC?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

AuroraGirl

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
I dont know the gm terminology in 95 for a small block with the change of centuries coming and computer systems replacing HEI etc all that, i am a 99 park avenue driver and i own a 80 gmc. my dad and uncle have a 96 and 95 small block ,respectively, in a GMT 400 96 1500 but a 95 GMC Van(3/4 ton van)
I dont know the van platforms, but he has EGR and he has a distributor.

The van runs great, no codes per my tech 2.
Its just sluggish on get up and go especially starting. on my tool, he idles 14-20 degrees advance according to my tool. I told him to check his base timing as proper which he claims is but he will check again. He just had a lot of pulleys replaced because they were wobbling and worn etc. He also has a tad bit of shake on idle but not noticeable unless you really care to think, cup of water on dash would show you that. However, the scan tool had recorded a lot of knock sensor activity, but i dont know if that means its pulled timing that many times(large nunmber) or if it just was sensor detected but maybe not bad. I dont know.

SO.,

I ask if his sluggish acceleration could be from his ESC or KS system pulling timing because of engine mounts or maybe a dampner not sufficient. I read somewhere the old ssensors were too sensitive???

Its mechanically pretty sound with 80k miles and all systems say go on the tool. it runs smooth. oil looks decent, leaks a bit, coolant is flushed because it was brown but he doesnt notice any burning, he leaked but he changed waterpump.

I cant comment on proper engine shake with a small block because my motor mounts are TWISTED on my truck as well as my np208 mount is snapped LOL