6.2 diesel has no power/runs rough

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Johnny89345

OBS Enthusiast
Reaction score
Im new to diesel. I cab swapped my 89 c1500 for an 89 k3500 gmc with a 6.2 diesel. The truck has 80k miles on it. Now it starts right up and idles fine but has 0 power, less then my 305tbi. Sometimes on the highway i hit the throttle and nothing happens just starts to miss and stumble. So i changed the fuel filter and removed the bleeder screw above the housing and it vled the air within a few seconds which leads me to believe the lift pump isnt bad. Whats next?

Schurkey

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
There's dozens of things that could be wrong.

Faulty injectors?
Plugged catalyst?
Faulty throttle cable?
Non-functioning turbo?
Plugged air filter?
Internal engine damage (Flat cam, broken rings, valves don't seal, etc.)
Faulty sensors resulting in "Limp Home" mode?

You could START by performing a cranking compression test, and then connecting a REAL scan tool to look at the data stream, and to check for codes.

The ancient 6.2 non-Turbo engines were total turds. There was a reason they went to 6.5, Turbo, and then to Duramax.

skylark

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
There's dozens of things that could be wrong.

Faulty injectors?
Plugged catalyst?
Faulty throttle cable?
Non-functioning turbo?
Plugged air filter?
Internal engine damage (Flat cam, broken rings, valves don't seal, etc.)
Faulty sensors resulting in "Limp Home" mode?

You could START by performing a cranking compression test, and then connecting a REAL scan tool to look at the data stream, and to check for codes.

The ancient 6.2 non-Turbo engines were total turds. There was a reason they went to 6.5, Turbo, and then to Duramax.
No ecm in an 89 with a 6.2.

Sparkysikes

I'm Awesome
Reaction score