Soon towing - need help.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Scotty.92

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
hey guys needing some questions answered here as I am fairly new to towing with a vehicle.

I have a C1500 and plan on picking up another vehicle with mine. I have a 1992 c1500 350 TBI/700R4 with 3.08 rear end (Yeah... just lovely for towing.) Reg cab long box. I`m going to be towing a truck on a 18 ft (I think) bumper hitch trailer. Truck is exact same as mine except 91 and k1500. Just put in trailer wiring in my truck. I can now run either flat 4 or the large 7 pin.

I know not to tow in overdrive with this transmission so thats what I`m going to do. I was wondering on some things though.

-Would I be able to stop with out a brake controller? I`m a very cautious driver and would start to slow down way before a stop sign or red light. I have pretty much all highway there and back.
-What to set my tire pressures at?
-What mileage to expect? I was getting 15 in Winter when I did test it, but was very cold out amongst other things. I`m probably going to go at 90 km/hr hauling trailer. (55 mph or so?)
-How much should I have the back of my truck sagging? I know to have the vehicle on trailer farther back so less tongue weight. Trailer will be 2 axle.
-First time towing so what to expect when I am towing?

Thanks for all and any help! I will greatly appreciate every bit of it.

19trax95

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
I would not tow that without trailer brakes. Just asking for a wreck.

I would set the tires to the max sidewall rating since that's what the manufacturer says they handle the most load

I would probably expect 8 mpg maybe more maybe less

The truck will sag quite a bit. Try to back the other truck on the trailer if possible. But also make sure you have some tongue weight.