New OBS owner, exhaust questions

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

big_mike

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
Ok guys I'm new to trucks & I have been searching for days on different exhaust but I'm still not sure what to do. Stock is far too quiet. On my Trans Am I have Pacesetter LT's/ORY & a Hooker Aerochamber muffler. I absolutely love the sound of this exhaust. I'd like to find a similar deep smooth toned exhaust without ANY popping like glasspacks are notorious for. As a rule of thumb for the Fbodies Flowmaster sucks ass for power & flow. But I see alot of truck guys loving them.

I'm also having a hard time finding a dual inlet muffler & I cant decide if I wanna try to have the exhaust shop run dual outs to behind each rear tire at about a 45* with slash cut tips or just leave the exit a single on the passenger side with a slash cut tip.

Its goin on a bone stock 1997 K1500 Silverado Z71 4wd. I was planning on leaving everything in front of the cats stock for now & just buying a muffler/tips & having the shop run it from the cats back.

Any suggestions? I have looked into maybe even doin a Flowmaster Y-collector from the stock pipes into a single in/single out muffler as well if I keep the single passenger side exit location.

sewlow

Bitchin' Stitchin'
Reaction score
You can install a cat-back system yourself, in the driveway, on a Sunday afternoon.
With some dual exhaust systems, it's not possible to run a spare tire in the stock position.
Do not go larger than 2.5" with duals. A 3" for a single is the largest.
I run a resonator at the very back. (mine's a single) Makes the exhaust have a nice rumble, with no snap, crackle, or pop. I like the way it growls when I wring it out.

Blue95

I'm Awesome
Reaction score