Just how hard is it to replace a Power Steering Pump?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

ShadowRejects

I drank the Kingpin koolaid
Reaction score
Im curious. Ive been driving with little to no power steering for almost 4 months now and i went ahead and bought a new pump and going to rent a pulley puller and probably tackle it this week. :rockit: I just want to know what im getting myself into,

to those that have replaced em, was it hard? and how long does it take?

IOWNJUNK

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
Not too bad, take care not to booger up the high pressure line on the pump, loosen it before you remove anything because its a pain to try to hold it still later. Its never fun working on the bottom of the motor of a lifted truck, you have to reach for everything. Remove the fan and shroud to give yourself some room, check your water pump while your in there. When you rent the puller make sure all the threads are good before you leave so you dont have to go back, rental tools take a beating.
Jack up truck and turn wheel lock to lock a few times before you start truck, keep plenty of fluid handy after you crank it the first time. If fluid gets foamy let it sit a few minutes and add some more.

someotherguy

Truly Awesome
Reaction score
Don't miss an important part of the bleeding process, to prevent damage to your new pump. Steps 2 through 4 are more important than you might think. This way you're getting fluid into the system before you ever load down the pump.

You must be registered for see images attach

Richard

tscherbi

I'm Awesome
Reaction score