Job smart flux core junk?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

SCOTTYINWV

si vis pacem, para bellum
Reaction score
Anyone used a job smart fiux core welder from tractor supply? They are fairly cheap and I'm just getting into welding to practice. I don't need anything fancy, just something to make it stick together. I'll be getting one on a limited budget....

IOWNJUNK

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
Flux core welders dont weld pretty, but they get the job done, as long as its a small job. You wont be building any trailers with one, thats for sure. Muffler work, small brackets, body work, frame repairs, 4 wheeler/atv stuff, and the day to day things from just being a guy who owns a truck and breaks a lot of things, a flux core is great.

I have a $700 lincoln mig welder, add 500 for a spool gun to weld aluminum and 300 for tanks and shielding gas and I have over $1500 into mine, and all I use is flux core wire. Go figure. I rarely use over 80 amps and I think the welder you mentioned is 90 amps. Get it, use it, and when you get ready, sell it for about $20 less than you paid for it to get a bigger one.
If you have never welded before then start saving up scrap metal to practice with. Its all about wire speed and amperage, the rest comes with practice.

SCOTTYINWV

Reaction score
I've welded in the past, more stick than anything. With wire welding, I have a hard time setting it up. If it's already set up, or someone that knows how, it's a breeze for me. I've perfected the art of slag cleanup and grinding welds too :lol: I know flux core isn't pretty. Just to do small truck repairs and play around with stuff. Anything I need to get fancy with, my dad has a mig and tig. I just wanna have my own "toy" if you will.

Ruger_556

I'm Awesome
Reaction score