98 K1500 Z71 Ext Cab 5.7 Vortec - No Start

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

jd1794h

Reaction score
Good Evening All,

I have been reading the forum for awhile but this is my first time posting. I have a 98 k1500 Z71 ext cab short bed with the 5.7 Vortec that won't start. A few weeks ago, it started, ran rough for a minute, died, and has not started since. I have checked and/or replaced a lot in an attempt to get it fixed. A similar issue happened a few months ago and I replaced the fuel pressure regulator with a Delphi unit and that fixed it until now. At first I checked fuel pressure and it was not holding after the pump shut off so I figured there must be a leak inside the upper intake manifold. When I pulled the upper intake manifold, it looked like fuel had been pooling under the cylinder number 6 and 8 injectors so I figured viola there is the problem. I replaced the injector assembly with a re-manufactured unit from Rock Auto but still no joy.