93 3500 Regular Cab - 502/Accel-Ram Swap

Discussion in 'Street Build Threads' started by amsterdam96, Feb 18, 2019.

  1. 454cid

    454cid Sooper Pooper

    Messages:
    2,596
    Likes Received:
    514
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Location:
    The 26th State
    Where is the super charger?
     
  2. amsterdam96

    amsterdam96 OBS Enthusiast

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2018
    Location:
    Spain
    If you check the engine bay photo you should be able to see it.
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2019
  3. 454cid

    454cid Sooper Pooper

    Messages:
    2,596
    Likes Received:
    514
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Location:
    The 26th State
    I did... I'm not seeing a super charger.
     
  4. amsterdam96

    amsterdam96 OBS Enthusiast

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2018
    Location:
    Spain
    That looks like a regular throttle body to you?

    Edit:
    I'm sorry for my lack of knowledge regarding super-chargers, i'm glad you're mentioning it now.
    What is the difference between a DFI/ Super 'Ram' & a super charger?

    Thanks for helping me out, again!
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2019
  5. 454cid

    454cid Sooper Pooper

    Messages:
    2,596
    Likes Received:
    514
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Location:
    The 26th State
    Your engine has an aftermarket fuel injection system, complete with intake manifold. A supercharger uses mechanical energy to force more air into an engine.
     
  6. Christian Steffen

    Christian Steffen I'm Awesome

    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    247
    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Location:
    Yankton, SD
    A quick google search says the normal fuel pressure port is -4 AN for GM.. but it's hard to say if yours is that. I'd probably just start buying fittings and see what fits..

    https://www.jegs.com/i/JEGS/555/110330/10002/-1
     
  7. amsterdam96

    amsterdam96 OBS Enthusiast

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2018
    Location:
    Spain
    I've looked at the truck with a mechanic, I still haven't done a precise fuel pressure check. I will do this the next time he comes, I hope he has a fuel-pressure test-kit. The main fuel line from the tank to the engine sprung last time though so there's enough pressure earlier on. The rails also seem to have plenty of fuel in them but I can't tell if pressure fluctuates. If the mechanic doesn't have a test-kit I guess I'll shell out the 100-150 bucks.
    The engine now runs again, it only runs on 2 cylinders though, 1 & 3. All spark plugs have recently been replaced, so that's not the problem
    Apparently all the injector-plugs have also been check and there's current flowing through.
    If we move the injector-plugs belonging to 1 & 3 to 2 & 4 they'll run. If we do the same (taking the injector plugs from 1 & 3) to say 6 & 8, she won't start.
    I'll check all the plugs again, maybe he only measured the current on the (+) side and didn't check the (-). Could this be the cause of my troubles?
    There's also a sensor or two that's disconnected and the wiring harness isn't in the best of shapes, could also be the cause considering it might be the computer acting up
    If anyone would like more information please don't hesitate to ask.

    P.S. Is it worth buying a diagnostic scanner for the Powertrain control module even if it's pre OBD and stems from Accel? Will it be compatible?
     
  8. amsterdam96

    amsterdam96 OBS Enthusiast

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2018
    Location:
    Spain
    I've got Tuner Pro installed, and the adapter to (USB to 9 pin serial (DE9 is on the way. What is the PROM adapter for? is a physical adapter just to connect the cables or is it some software related stuff, & what about the emulator? I'm trying to get all this stuff together for next week. Any more advice would be greatly appreciated! Thank you for all for help thus far. I'll post a video. A friend has checked for spark, pressure & pulse on the injectors. I've only got to measure the fuel pressure precisely, make sure my sensor cables haven't been chewed up by vermin & check for pulse again, thoroughly. I'll post a video of her running on a measly 2 cylinders. Assuming videos can be posted on the forum.
    Thanks again for all the advice guys! As you can probably tell this is all completely new to me & I wouldn't have gotten this far without all the information on this forum. I hope I can give back to this community somehow!
     
  9. JSlezak83

    JSlezak83 I'm Awesome

    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    115
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2019
    Location:
    RI
    The emulator replaces the old PROM chips that you would burn. I used one on my old 350 TPI. It was amazing to make real time changes to the tune. The Moates adapter goes between the CALPAC I think it’s called and the emulator.

    I would try to email or call Moates. All this stuff is for OEM GM ECMs. I have zero knowledge of that Accel equipment, or if Moates hardware will work with it.

    If you are going to get serious with the tuning there are better ECM/PCMs out there. I’m sure that Accel ECM is one of the old slower types. The data stream would only update every 10sec or something. The later model OBD ECMs were would provide data samples at several times per second. This provides much more data to tune with.

    Good luck.
     
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2019
  10. amsterdam96

    amsterdam96 OBS Enthusiast

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2018
    Location:
    Spain
    Right, but my ECM is actually a PCM (it controls the trans as well) and I doubt I'll find a PCM that couples a 502 & a 4L80e. Unless I could somehow configure a stock 454 & 4L80e PCM to run the 502 seeing as it should just be a bored out 454 with different stroke. Although I'm not 100% on that one.

    Thanks for the advice.
     

Share This Page