700R4 4x4 advice

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

NMNorsse

OBS Enthusiast
Reaction score
My 1988 K1500 7004r is due for a fluid and filter change. 60k original miles and 2 owners. I use it mainly to haul materials, tow and some occasional mild off roading. It drives fine right now and the fluid looks good. I just added an OEM auxiliary transmission cooler from the treasure yard.

When I drain it and drop the pan I'm planning on putting in the "TransGo 2-3" kit and a corvette servo but NOT going with the full manual option. The idea is put in their patented no-stick TV valve and to be able to hold 1st, 2nd or 3rd to whatever RPM when towing, off roading or for engine braking when coming down long grades (which are common where I live in the mountain west).

I'm no transmission expert but I can wrench. So, I would appreciate any suggestions or insights before I jump into this project.

NickTransmissions

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
My 1988 K1500 7004r is due for a fluid and filter change. 60k original miles and 2 owners. I use it mainly to haul materials, tow and some occasional mild off roading. It drives fine right now and the fluid looks good. I just added an OEM auxiliary transmission cooler from the treasure yard.

When I drain it and drop the pan I'm planning on putting in the "TransGo 2-3" kit and a corvette servo but NOT going with the full manual option. The idea is put in their patented no-stick TV valve and to be able to hold 1st, 2nd or 3rd to whatever RPM when towing, off roading or for engine braking when coming down long grades (which are common where I live in the mountain west).

I'm no transmission expert but I can wrench. So, I would appreciate any suggestions or insights before I jump into this project.