Let's talk Exo-Cages

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Horns

Tiff's Wedding Crasher
Reaction score
I'm pretty sure at this point that the Blazer will get an Exo-Cage. While I'll have no problem with actually fabricating one, I've never built one before.

I'm basically wanting to know the tips and tricks of GMT400 Exo-Cages. Some pictures for ideas would be great. What are the do's and the don'ts for how they're actually designed? Where are good spots to put bars? Where is the best spot to actually mount the cage? Are there certain spots better on the frame? What tubing thickness works the best and will hold up? If I built them like the build industrial equipment it would all be 1/2" wall! Haha.

Also, is it a completely far fetched idea to not have the cage solid mounted, but bolt on? I'd like to be able to take it off if need be.

Thanks dudes! Much appreciated.

TylerZ281500

Yukon Ridin High
Reaction score
one of my fave things as the pirate build and the 1ton guy on here did was cut their rockers out with 1x3 steel or whatever size it was and start basing things off that. full exo how eleaborate do you want full hood? do you want release pins and such so you can remove some sections of the cage? ive never been a fan of exo cages so for me to think of how to make one looks good i wouldnt try, i like a nicely tucked interior cage with some exterior armor is fine.

TylerZ281500

Yukon Ridin High
Reaction score