Can my TBI handle a Supercharger?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

88C1500

Reaction score
I have a 88 1500 with the 5.7L TBI 350. It has a small cam, Hooker long headers, K&N cai, tbi spacer, and a Superchip Stage 2 computer. All hooked up to a TH350 with a shift kit.

Im pretty new to this but im wanting to beef up my 350. Can it hold up to a supercharger, or even a turbo? And if not what will I need to do for it to handle it?

Also any suggestions on what brand/type

low4x4

backyard mechanic
Reaction score
standard 5 psi of boost no problem...any more than that you will have to modify stuff

95Escahoe

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
Get a Whipple there hard to find but pop up now and then

Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk 2

gmcyukondriver

Built, not bought.
Reaction score
Like said above, stick with 5 psi or lower, and you'll be fine on the stock engine. I would recommend running 91 octane though, just to be sure you don't have issues with pinging. I did that on mine after the install and it hasn't pinged once.

How many miles are on your engine? Does it have any leaks or oil issues? How is your transmission holding up? How's the rear end?

I would recommend searching for a whipple as well. Some might need to be reconditioned, but I still think they're the best, of course, I may be just a little biased.

Adhuntr.com is probably one of the best places to search.....along with ebay. Just be careful that you don't get scammed. They're a lot of money. What's your budget for this? It'll probably cost around $2k total.

Damn

Reaction score
Like said above, stick with 5 psi or lower, and you'll be fine on the stock engine. I would recommend running 91 octane though, just to be sure you don't have issues with pinging. I did that on mine after the install and it hasn't pinged once.