93 K1500 4.3L V6 consuming oil?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

NEChevyowner

Reaction score
I bought a used 93 K1500 with the V6, this past fall. I changed the oil right after I bought it. The truck has 193285 mi on it now. I put 3000 on it since I bought it.
I just checked the dipstick today, before I came home from work - and the oil was down a little over a quart?
Should I be concerned here? I know it has high mileage. I have had other vehicles with close to 130000 miles, which didn't burn any oil. These vehicles were bought new by myself, and broken in according to the owner's manual. I have no knowledge of the history of the K1500. All I know is it was a farm truck. Any input here is appreciated!

Sent from my XT1635-01 using Tapatalk

DerekTheGreat

Forum Regular
Reaction score
I second checking the plugs, that'll tell ya what's going on. Just under a quart after 3k doesn't sound so bad. The old 350 in my K1500 chugged a quart every 4-500 miles. Rings were shot on that ole dog. Had 225k on it. The "new" engine has 143 on it now and is down 3/4 of a quart after 3,400 miles. I'm running Valvoline 5w-40 SynPower, with this engine and the one it replaced. Old dudes tell me these older engines don't like synthetic oil but this is a contradiction.

NEChevyowner

Reaction score
Evil and Derrick. Sorry about the late reply. Been tied up with work. The 93 doesn't smoke on startup, or when you steep on the gas hard.
I replaced the plugs, and gave her a tune up and oil change, after I bought it. The old plugs didn't look too bad. The check engine light comes on and off. Bi am pretty sure it's the 02 sensor? Haven't checked codes yet? The motor smells like it's running a little Rich? I changed the pcv, but haven't cleaned or replaced the egr. Thanks for the input!

NEChevyowner

Reaction score