Weird question about a bypass filter

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

oniontheoreo

Reaction score
Weird question, but is there a way to hook up a bypass filter to a 97 5.7 vortec? I assume it's way to overkill for an engine like that.

Schurkey

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Bypass OIL filter?

I have one on my 5.7L TBI, and the 454 on my boat. Frantz brand, made by SKY in Stockton CA. Long since out-of-business. The manufacture of those filters has gone through several owners since then; I've only bought replacement O-rings and such from the new owners. I get my bypass filters used from sellers on eBay. Amsoil also sells bypass filters, as do various other manufacturers. Again, I have zero experience with anything by the SKY-manufactured Frantz ass-wipe oil filters.

Hardest part is getting a suitable return fitting so that the oil can re-enter the engine somewhere. The supply side is easy--a street tee, or regular tee plus short nipple at the back of the engine near the distributor will work (as will any other oil pressure port.) OEM oil pressure sending unit in one open hole, the supply hose for the filter in the other. I insist on steel-braid-over-Teflon (PTFE) hose using taper-seal fittings, but most folks use plain ol' rubber hose suitable for higher pressure than the oil system produces, and barbed fittings.

Boat filter installation: right side oil hose goes rearward to pressure port near the full-flow oil filter, left-side oil hose goes down to threaded port in Marine oil pan.
You must be registered for see images attach

Last edited:

RDF1

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
I've thought about trying a bypass but not sure you will ever see a cost return. They claim it cleans the oil better and gives you longer oil life.

Spareparts

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score