Tuning subs, complete noob to car audio systems

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Ryan cin

Reaction score
I got my first subs, dual 12in MTX terminators with the terminator amp as well. Absolutely no clue how to tune these. I have an Alpine 133bt head unit. I don’t know how they’re supposed to sound, so it’s hard to set things right. What settings should I have on the head unit? I don’t know what distortion sounds like, so it’s hard to set gain. I have subs +15 and bass +7 on my head unit right now, with gain almost all the way up and lpf 2/3 open (?).

RawbDidIt

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
I got my first subs, dual 12in MTX terminators with the terminator amp as well. Absolutely no clue how to tune these. I have an Alpine 133bt head unit. I don’t know how they’re supposed to sound, so it’s hard to set things right. What settings should I have on the head unit? I don’t know what distortion sounds like, so it’s hard to set gain. I have subs +15 and bass +7 on my head unit right now, with gain almost all the way up and lpf 2/3 open (?).

Ok, stop what you're doing. I'm glad you asked for help. Put your head unit down to default settings across the board. Your settings should be done primarily at the amp, with the head unit making fine tunings on the fly.