spacer on a Vortec questions

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

6d8muscle

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
I did some searching but was unable to get any real answers. I have a 97 GMC with a 305 and I was thinking about a spacer. Do they make a difference on this engine at all? HP gains, fuel mileage those are the two things I'm really looking at. Any help would be great.

Sully

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
if by spacer you mean blower then yes they do!!!! I have no experience with spacers on these trucks otherwise though

Sully

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
yeah I was just being a smart ass.... I saw a thread on here a while back where two or three guys were debating if it made any difference. I dont remember where it was though. I think its a placebo effect. People buy them and think they are more powerful, but really any measurable gains arent had. I know I wouldnt bother unless I was trying to milk every single last drop out of the motor and had a class to stay in. Otherwise there are far too many other ways to get more power.

6d8muscle

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
I think you are right on the placebo effect. I put duals on thinking it would help with gas mileage. It sounds good but on a 700 mile trip I only got about 15mpg. I would like to gain some HP too. It only had 59,000 on it so I don't want to do an engine swap yet.

Sully

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
ahhhh duals.... another debated subject. True Duals vs duals with an x pipe, mufflers or no mufflers

as far as I am concerned with exhaust, duals with an xpipe as close to the headers as possible with the mufflers as far back as possible will make the most power.

Aloicious

Hired Goon
Supporting Member
Reaction score