RPM hold botton

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

97Kharon

OBS Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hello everyone being a mobile mechanic I constantly jump dead battery sometimes I have to increase the rpms having to hold the pedal down is the way I'm doing it currently but I would like to wire a rpm increase switch, ideas? I know it's possible for diesel version but how about gasoline version.

Orpedcrow

I don’t know what I’m doing
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Two options that come to mind would be some way to intercept the cruise control and force it to set without the need for a speed sensor input.

The other is a manual choke cable attached to the throttle plate and run inside the cab.

RichLo

E I E I O
Reaction score
Are you thinking of a governor? Like on a gas powered full size farm tractor? No matter the load, it'll hold a steady rpm?

smdk2500

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
Are you thinking of a governor? Like on a gas powered full size farm tractor? No matter the load, it'll hold a steady rpm?
I think what he is talking about is push a button and the rpm raises. On my 6.5 I have a toggle wired into the PTO pin on the PCM. When 12v is applied to it it raises the rpm to about 1200 rpm and holds it till I turn the switch off.

97Kharon

OBS Enthusiast
Reaction score
I think what he is talking about is push a button and the rpm raises. On my 6.5 I have a toggle wired into the PTO pin on the PCM. When 12v is applied to it it raises the rpm to about 1200 rpm and holds it till I turn the switch off.
Thank you, I'm looking to do the same. I've found manual that says how to do it but for a diesel version which I may use but compare the wires first.

someotherguy

Truly Awesome
Reaction score