Parts list for my front end rebuild

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

99Sierra

Reaction score
The steering is super sloppy in my '99 K1500 so I'm planning on doing a front end rebuild. This is my first time tackling a project like this so I want to make sure I've got everything I need. I've searched though some good posts on GMT400.com and watched a few how-to videos so I think I've got everything covered. Here's my parts list so far:

L/R inner tie rod end
MOOG ES2838RL $18.51 @ rockauto.com (x2)

L/R outer tie rod end

MOOG ES2836RL $26.79 @ rockauto.com (x2)

tie rod adjustment sleeve
MOOG ES2004S $8.65 @ rockauto.com (x2)

idler arm
MOOG K6447 $43.79 @ rockauto.com

pitman arm
MOOG K6335 $30.79 @ rockauto.com

center link
MOOG DS1407 $37.79 @ rockauto.com

steering shaft
DORMAN 425185 $155.89 @ rockauto.com

stabilizer bar link
MOOG K700539 $12.59 @ rockauto.com

L upper control arm
MOOG RK620720 $33.27 @ summitracing.com

R upper control arm
MOOG RK620719 $33.27 @ summitracing.com

L/R lower ball joint
MOOG K6477 $29.79 @ rockauto.com (x2)

Am I missing anything else here? Also, are there any special tools and/or additional hardware I'll need to purchase (other than a ball joint press)?

Last edited:

95C1500

┌П┐(◣_◢)┌П┐
Reaction score
rent a pitman arm puller. Makes quick work of getting it off. Then just push it back on a far as it will go by hand, hand tighten the nut then use a socket and a breaker bar to press it back into place.

RichLo

E I E I O
Reaction score
You dont need the center link if your current one isn't bent or has worn taper joints. That's a non-wear item unless one of the tie rods or pitman arm, idler arm nut was loose.