Nbs rear end swap questions

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Canadian_bob

Reaction score
So I'm brand new to this forum so I apologize in advance if I'm posting this in the wrong section but I'm curious on whats involved in a nbs rear end swap . I've looked online and I can't find any definitive info on it . So here are my questions. How different are the track widths . Want to lower it 4/6 and I worry about it causing some clearance issues
Also how much fab work is involved . I'm a decent welder and am no novice with a grinder . Any other issues you've ran into if you've done this swap yourself please feel free to reply or dm (not sure how it works ) thank you in advance for helping a guy out .

HotWheelsBurban

Gotta have 4 doors..... Rawhide, TOTY 2023!
Reaction score
Pickup or SUV? The pickup still had leaf springs in the rear, whereas the SUVs had changed over to coil springs and a 4 link setup (like the GM cars). Also the widths are probably different, I think the 99--06 trucks are wider.

618 Syndicate

You won't...
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Rear disc brakes that aren't cobbled up, and a rear axle with less mileage on it? I've given thought to this myself since I have a newer Burb too. But the rear suspension difference makes it a deal breaker for me.
I don't know that having rear discs is worth the hassle, and not all nbs trucks have em. But, to each their own, if it's worth it to you or the OP in terms of time and/or money, I'm sure it can be done.

HotWheelsBurban

Gotta have 4 doors..... Rawhide, TOTY 2023!
Reaction score
I don't know that having rear discs is worth the hassle, and not all nbs trucks have em. But, to each their own, if it's worth it to you or the OP in terms of time and/or money, I'm sure it can be done.