My recent 93 1500 NV3500 MT5 to 2004 3500 NV4500 MW3 swap.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Blackwater

Engineering Geinus
Reaction score
I am new to this forum but I engineer for a living and teach what I engineer. I decided to upgrade my transmission due to me breaking it so many times. That and I plan on putting down some serious ponies under the hood. That's another post. I started looking at what transmission to go to. I seen the T56 but I felt like it was to long and I would have to cut a hold back of the original position. So, I decided to stick with just truck manuals. I studied the latest and greatest Manual truck transmission. It fell into the NV4500. Now I found that there was two RPO codes for this transmission. MT8 and a MW3. Now internally they are the same except the gear ratios. MW3 having closer ratios compared to the MT8. This is why I chose the MW3 over the MT8 for my half ton which the guys at the office call it the 5/8 ton. Its more than a half and less then a 3/4. Now on all New Venture manual the 4th and 5th gear ratios are the same. The gear ratios are different from 1st to 3rd between the two RPO's. MW3 has two bell housings for the traditional 58 model standard 6 bolt bell housing and the new LS series 9 bolt. Now your thinking that You cant mix either one. You can go from a standard 58 to a LS and the LS to the 58. This is true because they took the 58 standard bell housing and added one bolt at the top and two at the bottom of the 58 standard housing. I could have used a 93 through 98 bell-housing but I plan on dropping in a L92 therefore using all nine bolts. This will be needed for the 376CID (6.2) stroked 4 over to 418CID (6.8), polished and ported heads, larger cam, mid length headders, and 60lb/hr injectors on a Edelbrock cross-ram duel 90mm TB setup. Now to bolt it up and work with the old engin