help with build

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Stephen7891

Reaction score
I have a 91 gmc 1500 2wd single cab long box with a 305 currently the everything from the cab back is removed to clean and paint the chassis. I am not sinking a ton of money into this project but lots of time and effort. i am looking to build this in stages but i would like input as this is my first project so anything to help down the road if i decide to put more power or money into it. looking for a purely street build

stage one is the cab back i have removed the box dropping the gas tank removed all the mount that were riveted which were in really good condition but i wanted to clean and paint, leafs axle are off the truck basically only frame rails from the cab back. I went with a set of Monroe shocks for the rear because i wanted a soft ride but im not sure if my leafs are worn they look like there in good shape non were cracked or broken but the truck was really soft in the back.

first question: i want to remove the cross members one at a time to clean and paint properly but i have to grind the rivets and replace with grade 8 bolts and lock nut is it worth doing time and effort are not an issue strength and i fear the frame may shift i plan in bracing it when i remove them there are three i want to remove clean and paint.