Exhaust opinions?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

jdyates

Ghetto Racetruck
Reaction score
Well guys I'm getting tired of my stock exhaust, and don't know much about them, so i thought i would ask 'round here.

I want a nice deep rumble at idle, but something that sounds awesome when accelerating. Should i just go pick up a Flowmaster at O'reillys? Can't go just pipes, it would be too loud and illegal, and i have to keep the Cat, since Texas requires them. Advance Autoparts also has a "High-flow" cat, does it make any difference in sound?

My buddy Martin is running Straight pipes, no cats on his Chevy (truck pictured here) and he told me he gets pulled over all the time, so that is out of the question.

Thanks in advance!

LoudnLifted88

Small Block Grim Reaper
Reaction score
i have a flowmaster 40 that sounds awesome on my truck i have about 230 into my whole exhaust but thats because i had to buy welding wire to weld stainless ill see what i can do about a video

DRAGGIN95

Warranty Killer!
Super Moderator
Reaction score
I would vote for a Flowmaster 40 also, and if you are still running the original huge old style convertor then I would suggest replacing it with an aftermarket hi flow unit, it will sound better and flow more. Also I don't know about where you live, but right now those large covertor's are bringing $120-150 at the scrap metal places. It would help fund you new exhaust.

jdyates

Ghetto Racetruck
Reaction score
I would vote for a Flowmaster 40 also, and if you are still running the original huge old style convertor then I would suggest replacing it with an aftermarket hi flow unit, it will sound better and flow more. Also I don't know about where you live, but right now those large covertor's are bringing $120-150 at the scrap metal places. It would help fund you new exhaust.