Design and build throttle body

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Motorsports-X

OBS Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hey guys. I'm progressing on my truck and I'm almost ready to start tuning. Im going to be drivable in a couple weeks, but I'm 100% sure the intake and spidee are going to be a problem.

I've looked around and i cant really find a throttle body replacement that will do what i want, so i think I'm going to design and cut one out on the cnc. (I'm a tooling engineer btw, i design and machine for a living)

I need some help with design intent and refinement from you guys. My current design goals.

1. Fit a standard carb intake
  2. Contain provisions for all relevant gm factory sensors and actuators
    • IAT
    • Map
    • MAF
    • IAC
    • TPS
    • Cruise control?
  3. Fit old school round airfilter on top of engine
  4. Fit under cowl hood
  5. Vacuum port provisions
Anything else?

I'll post a rough cad model in the next few days.

Last edited:

Motorsports-X

OBS Enthusiast
Reaction score
Rough draft. Just Just working on the over all form/function first. ill work on the air flow as it moves forward. just have to get all the dimensions set in stone first

You must be registered for see images attach

RichLo

E I E I O
Reaction score

big_mike

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
Good luck, your climbing Mt. Everest with this goal. Designing a TB with all those provisions is pretty much going to be a lost cause.

If your worried about the spider either upgrade to a MPFI unit or swap to a intake with external injectors. For the TB if your not swapping the actual intake then the opening in the intake can slightly be opened, but not much. So a good port/polished stock unit is about your best bet. I wouldn't waste the money for a aftermarket unit with a stock intake IMO anyway.