Custom fabrication designs

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

kamokevin

ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
Reaction score
Considering my major is mechanical engineering, I've been spending a lot of my time lately working with CAD programs; Solidworks in this case.

My latest personal project is a rear tire carrier that currently holds a 33" tire. It has D-ring mounts but I haven't made the actual D-rings yet.
It also has two oval LED reverse lights and utilizes a 1.75" heavy duty spindle for the hinge. It may be hard to tell but its overall geometry is trapezoidal and is wider towards
the trucks front and narrower towards the rear.
Drawing is still being worked on

You must be registered for see images attach

This is just a basic dimetric view from the front. The tire is obviously still under construction. Haven't figured out how to make a revolved linear pattern extruded cut haha :hmm:
The wheel is modeled after my 16x8 American Racing Mojaves and it is almost 100% accurate. It's material is A365 aluminum alloy.

Here is an open view of the carrier. As of right now it still has 360[SUP]o[/SUP] movement. This particular carrier assembly is designed for a 33" x 12.5" tire and as of right now
all material is 3/16" steel.

This rear view shows that I have yet to give the bumper any bracing :nono: haha but it also gives a closer look at the wheel mount plate and the welded in spindle tube.
Also I'm still working on the latch system.

This last picture is focused more on the reverse lights. They are 7.5" x 2.5" and each feature 48 white LEDs. The lens is made of clear acrylic and the actual part is recessed into
the bumper so it only protrudes about .2". These were particularly time consuming and I'm still trying to configure the reflectors material to be chrome.