At my wits end with high idle issues.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

deve05

Reaction score
I'mma start by saying that this is my first time ever owning a TBI truck and so far I'm not having a good time with it. I've had both prior gen carbed small blocks and the 5.3 and later lq and ls based small blocks and both have been much more complacent and easy to fix.

Also, before making this thread I did a keyword search and read a few threads and didn't find anything like the issues I'm having.

So here we go.

Truck: 1995 C1500 Silverado W/ 5.7L TBI engine and 4L60e.

What's been done:

Bought the truck with a clogged cooling system running straight water and a blown head gasket.
- Took off both heads and had a valve job done on them and also inspected for cracks.
-used a fel-pro head gasket kit and used new head bolts that were tightened following instructions from a Haynes Repair manual.
-had the intake manifold pressure cleaned and sand blasted and the coolant and egr passages cleaned.

What's going on:

The truck refuses to idle where its supposed to.

Right now it's idling at +/- 1,000 rpm. Since idling high, the transmission has also been shifting much higher in the RPM range. Sometimes the RPM will also rise and drop a bit and then settle at 1k again.

One night, I started it and it was suddenly idling right and it drove and shifted flawlessly. Turned it off and back on and it went back to not idling or shifting right, so I think the late shifting and idling high are related.

I've spent HOURS on forums searching through threads looking for answers and almost always end up with people pointing at the IAC valve or the TBI base plate gasket.