Anyone tried a TCI 6 speed 4l80e?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

JavaMan

OBS Enthusiast
Reaction score
My stock 4l80e is showing signs of age, slipping in third gear. It's in a 2500 Suburban, 115k miles, I have a 6400 pound travel trailer that I pull a few times a year, and a cargo trailer in that same weight range loaded, that I pull. This being AZ, the summertime temps are 110+, which makes things hot pulling up the hills (3k-4k feet elevation gain over 5-10 miles)

I'm thinking if I replace it, perhaps replacing it with a 6 speed from TCI Auto http://www.tciauto.com/tc/6x-six-speed-gm-automatic-transmission-850hphtml

Has anyone tried one of these six speed transmissions put into a 4l80e housing? Do you know if it's good for towing?

df2x4

4L60E Destroyer
Staff member
Super Moderator
Reaction score
I have zero experience with anything like that, but just wanted to bring up a quick point. You'd have to control it somehow, which means either tuning the factory PCM (probably impossible due to the nature of the transmission design, I don't know) or buy TCI's stand alone transmission controller.

If I were you I'd just rebuild your 80E, maybe throw in a shift kit, and call it a day.

deejaaa

Became Less Of A Human 5-13-18
Reaction score
i just installed the TCI EZ-TCU with remote TPS. just those parts were close to 750. i'm having my 4L80 rebuilt for a little over 2K. how much money do you want to put into an old truck? and it's not put into a 4L80 case. it's completely new.
what year is it anyway?

Lanny

I'm Awesome
Reaction score