A/C Compressor Troubles

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Craig

Reaction score
So I had a new A/C compressor installed 2 months ago and just replaced the low pressure switch to get it going for the summer. Unfortunately, I'm thinking it might be a lemon.

When I first started it up, it was cycling on and off every 10-15 seconds. I was thinking the charge was off. After taking the truck out on a test drive, it lessened and lessened and seems to be operating normal now. It's blowing cold and cycling normally.

The trouble is, I looked under the hood and it appears as though the back of the compressor is leaking. There's a bit of oil from the compressor that had even run down the engine block.

As well, the compressor seems to be running hot. I did a temp test and it read at 120 Celsius.

I have little experience in terms of A/C. Is this fairly normal to see when breaking in a new compressor or is it a lemon?

magimerlin

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
There should be "NO" oil running down the back of the a/c compressor at all... one of the o-rings is most likely done for. But will not know in till you undo the switch and or line depending on where it's coming from.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk

Craig

Reaction score
There should be "NO" oil running down the back of the a/c compressor at all... one of the o-rings is most likely done for. But will not know in till you undo the switch and or line depending on where it's coming from.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk

I figured. It should be a completely self contained system.

The shop went with a reconditioned 4seasons compressor and it started leaking in under a year. They replaced it with another and it started leaking this soon.