3rd Rebuild on 98 5.7

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Aaron Davies

Reaction score
It’s been rebuilt two times, by a private shop. This will be the third time, spun rod bearing, the first two times they rebuilt it.

Of course now, they refused to do it and I’m debating if I want to do it myself, which is what I’m gonna probably end up doing, because I’m not gonna pay to have it done at a shop again.

I wanna make sure I do it right. I’m a certified mechanic but never done an engine rebuild. I wanna upgrade the proper components, for better performance,sound and handling.

The only thing that hasn’t been replaced on the internal components of the motor is the pistons, the piston rings and connecting rods. I want to replace and possibly upgrade those as well.

I’ve had the block bored out, the heads are NOT cracked, and are new. I know I’m going to replace the connecting rod bearings and the crank shaft bearings for sure and obviously I’m thinking the crankshaft at minimum, along with the timing components, so anything additional recommended for performance upgrades and additional component replacement, please send it.

Let’s hear it. What do you guys think?

Attachments

• 69025152093__041F9254-FD8A-4B9F-8471-B828A0620A61.jpeg
    69025152093__041F9254-FD8A-4B9F-8471-B828A0620A61.jpeg
    544 KB · Views: 13
  • Resized_20221118_110829.jpeg
    Resized_20221118_110829.jpeg
    253.3 KB · Views: 12
  • imagejpeg_1.jpeg
    imagejpeg_1.jpeg
    93.9 KB · Views: 12
  • imagejpeg_0.jpeg
    imagejpeg_0.jpeg
    80.7 KB · Views: 12

Aaron Davies

Reaction score
You must be registered for see images attach

Attachments

• IMG_6587.jpeg
    IMG_6587.jpeg
    374.8 KB · Views: 9
  • IMG_6589.jpeg
    IMG_6589.jpeg
    354.3 KB · Views: 9

Schurkey

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Of course now, they refused to do it