350 tbi rebuild, help please

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

C1500stepside

Reaction score
Hey everyone this is my first post and im fairly new to the truck scene but I decided it's time to do my first rebuild project. I have a 97 sierra sidestep that I fell in love with. It has 4.3 vortec currently in it. Ill post some pictures later.
Anyway I came a across a great deal on a complete 95 350 tbi with 4l60e, computer and wire harness. I've heard this is a good engine to start with from many people. My plan is to not build it up to have a thousand horse power but to have some kick as it is going to be my daily driver. I am in no rush to build it because I have a running motor and trans in place so I wanna do it right and have fun doing it at the same time.
Also budget wise I don't wanna break the bank but I also don't wanna be cheap and suffer the consequences down the line.so far what I got planned to do is put it in a new crank port and polish replace internals, vortec heads, headers, exhaust intake and maybe some pistons to increase compression but I dont know yet since im a newb. But ive also heard that any mods to this motor means that alot of tuning had to be done. Is that true? And also will I have to get a new ecm and write harness or could I use the ecm and harness from the 95 motor? I have plenty of questions so Any thoughts opinions and advice and suggestions from all those with experience on this would be greatly appreciated! Im all ears. Thanks!

Cadon69

GMT400 "Like a Rock"
Reaction score
That my favorite place to read and plan my next steps too LoL! I will be getting that flowmaster "y" pipe soon. Then I will move to on to some of the other mods too.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

C1500stepside

Reaction score