Transmission Yoke leak- 88 GMC 1500

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

jcain226

Reaction score
Newbie here- have atf leak from what appears to be the yoke at front ujoint. See pics. From what I have read, the yoke has a permanent seal in the center that can leak.

Con someone experienced with this confirm that is what the leak appears to be?
If so, Is the repair as straight forward as removing the driveshaft and changing out the yoke for a new one? Remove 4 rear bolts to drop shaft and slip yoke out, then replace?

Is there anything I should watch out for? Anything I can damage worse by trying the repair?

Thanks in advance!!

Attachments

• 73C988A3-07B9-4377-B81A-32FF38669357.jpeg
    73C988A3-07B9-4377-B81A-32FF38669357.jpeg
    212.2 KB · Views: 42
  • 7DCF4536-29E1-4FA8-9054-C9AA02F6FA65.jpeg
    7DCF4536-29E1-4FA8-9054-C9AA02F6FA65.jpeg
    253.2 KB · Views: 40

stutaeng

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
Rear tailhousing seal leak it looks like. Remove driveshaft, then remove the tailhousing and take it to the bench. Remove the seal by hitting/collapsing it carefully with a flathead screwdriver. Install new seal by tapping it with a block a wood.

Give the yoke shaft a few swipes with a Scotchbrite pad to make sure there's major gouges, scoring or wear marks.

jcain226

Reaction score
Rear tailhousing seal leak it looks like. Remove driveshaft, then remove the tailhousing and take it to the bench. Remove the seal by hitting/collapsing it carefully with a flathead screwdriver. Install new seal by tapping it with a block a wood.

Give the yoke shaft a few swipes with a Scotchbrite pad to make sure there's major gouges, scoring or wear marks.
Is the tailhousing seal the seal in the picture with the red ring around it?