Resuscitating the 1992 K2500 Restore and Build

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Jeremiah6.5

Reaction score
Well figured I'd go ahead and get my build thread up on here and started. I put in the Members Trucks area so that I could get feed back and advice considering I'm new to diesel trucks:uhoh2: For those that don't know, I just picked me up a 1992 K2500 6.5L Turbo Diesel Single Cab 4x4 recently with 201,*** miles for $1000. It needs alot of TLC on the inside and out but mechanical it seems pretty decent. I've just started Motorcyle Mechanics courses, which means I had to quit my "decent job" to go back to school and get me a crumby job that'll work with my schedule which pays like crap...:nono: So that being said for at least a year the build is going to move slow in the "financing" area. But I plenty of other things I can do to it for cheap or free. In the end I'd like to have a good DD/Off-Road/Occasional Mud Pit Toy:evillol:....

So far I've changed out the ignition switch, and put in a refurbished alternator....This weekend I'm going to try and clean the engine bay up really good and take a good look at things. Check fluids and go through everything. I know it needs batteries right now because its not holding a charge and one battery was totally dry.

Also I noticed when shifting gears theres a big "clank" noise when I get back on the acclerator almost like the tranny isnt bolted in on one side or something like it twists left when I lift off the pedal and push in the clutch to shift gears, then when I hit the gas again it twists back right and hits where its supposed to be...idk..<<<<<best description I could give...so gotta check that out also this weekend also....Soooo anybody know the best way to clean a diesel engine bay without messing anything up??:hmm:

You must be registered for see images attach