Ordering gears

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

99z28monster

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
With the cost of a shop installing gears being crazy high I figure I will have them installed at home. So I need your help on what the hell I need to get when I order. I want to run 4.88s on a half ton 94 with sf14 rear. All I have heard of is some damn master kit and ring and pinion. Please I am a newb to this break it down so my dumbass will understand just what all I need. I hate buying stuff just to find out that there is something else that was needed but never mentioned. Also any suggestions on the best place to order from and brand of gear. It would be nice if there is a master kit that includes front/rear gears and everything else to start and finish the job. Thanks.

Aloicious

Hired Goon
Supporting Member
Reaction score
you could call the guys at randy's ring and pinion, they're pretty helpful last time I talked to them (which was several years ago). I'm still working on doing my gear swap, so I'm not finished yet, and I don't have front gears so I don't know if anything is different with them.
off the top of my head, for the rear differential if you're re-using your current carrier, the parts and supplies you'll need are (at least) the ring and pinion gears, a complete install kit, some black RTV, ~2-3 qts of your gear oil of choice (I don't now how much fluid the 14 bolts take), and a good amount of brake cleaner. (if you want too you could also get some axle seals and bearings to freshen it up a bit).