No-Start Vortec 350

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

bEnC10

Reaction score
Hello everyone! This is my first time posting in a Forum like this, I would usually just find the information I need and it ends up working out for me. Anyway, I have a Vortec 350 (L31) out of a 1997 K1500 and put it into my 1986 c10. This was my first time working on a vehicle so YouTube was a really big help. I rebuilt the vortec 350 and added a slightly bigger cam and bored it out into a 383 (not a stroker). I paired it with the stock 4L60e. I got a Custom wiring harness made with everything that is only needed to run. Long story short, it cranks but doesn’t start. Here is a list of what I replaced and got brand new.

-New distributor, cap, and rotor with plug wires
-New fuel pump with new AN lines and filter
-Crank position sensor
-EGR valve
-New Ignition Coil

I didn’t want to get a new spider injector because I had the MPFI (rubber end) and not the other black plastic CPFI. I know that compression is good and I know I get spark because of the occasional cylinder going off when I’m cranking. I’m sure I am in time because I was back and forth with it for a while but finally I got it perfect on TDC. I have ~60 Fuel Psi when I’m cranking so I’m not sure what else it can be? Maybe an electrical issue? I’ve been trying to figure this out for a while but still nothing.

Attachments

• 5D0E8664-F1AC-4C20-B5ED-CF921C5CC031.jpeg
    5D0E8664-F1AC-4C20-B5ED-CF921C5CC031.jpeg
    101.3 KB · Views: 9

Schurkey

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I rebuilt the vortec 350 and added a slightly bigger cam and bored it out into a 383 (not a stroker).
Not possible to bore a 350 enough to get to 383. Are you saying you bored it .030 as is typically done when building a 383? If so, you've got about 355 cubes.